The thoughts that go through my head when you tell me that I should “be careful” around a guy.

1) Trapper-keeper SHUT

2) What does that even mean?

3) I’m assuming that you mean that he’s too sexually aggressive.

4) I’m assuming that this means that you’ve seen him be too sexually aggressive.

5) Did you do anything when you saw him be too sexually aggressive?

6) What happened to that girl?

7) How many times have you seen him be too sexually aggressive?

8) What happened to those girls?

9) Do you tell all the girls this, or just your friends?

10) Do you watch him at parties to make sure that he’s not too sexually aggressive?

11) Why is it my responsibility to be careful around him instead of his responsibility to not be sexually aggressive?

12) Would you help me if he was being too aggressive, or would you assume that since you warned me, our encounter must be consensual?

13) Have you ever said anything to him?

7 Comments

Filed under Gender, Life, Sexuality

7 responses to “The thoughts that go through my head when you tell me that I should “be careful” around a guy.

  1. Pingback: The thoughts that go through my head when you tell me that I should “be careful” around a guy. « On Trichonormativity and Neckbeards

  2. sociologification

    Brilliant.

  3. Found you through Freshly Pressed! #11 is pretty much exactly what I want to say to my grandparents every time I have to leave the house (in India) and they say that I should wear looser clothes/a long skirt instead of pants/a burlap sack. On the other hand, I don’t want to be the person who gets assaulted and then causes a sea change (or, as is more likely, no change at all) in the behaviour of Indian men. So what’s the line? How is it possible to assert my right to do what I want while not being foolhardy?

  4. I just went to a screening of MissRepresentation today… so many thoughts right now about rape culture/ victim-blaming.

    So glad you got Freshly Pressed… now following your blog.

  5. Really interesting blog, saw you from freshly pressed and have had a nose around your blog. I really enjoy your writing am following now.

Leave a Reply

